Craig Tregurtha

I was born in Chiswick, west London in 1971 and brought up in nearby by my parents Eric and Maureen – who have always been incredibly supportive and an inspiration to me.  I was an only child and somehow they managed to pay for a private education which I will be forever grateful for and which has stood me in great stead since.
Since the age of 12 – and following brief flirtations with the idea of being a footballer and fighter pilot – I have wanted to be a journalist, following in the footsteps of my uncle Malcolm Folley who is chief sports reporter of the Mail on Sunday. I decided to give up a place at London University and go straight into a job on a local paper in Sussex.
Having bounced around various weekly and one evening paper learning my trade I started doing weekend sub-editing shifts on the sports desk of The Sun newspaper in London in my early 20s. Quickly they offered me enough work to give up my day job and I became a permanent “casual.” That meant I worked without any kind of contract but as long as I performed there was four days work every week.
That terrifyingly tenuous position lasted for two years until I was offered a job as assistant sports editor of The Sun. It was while working as a casual that I met my wife Jo, a brilliant teacher, and more than 20 years later we are still happily married and living in Milton Keynes.
At The Sun I worked my career progressed until I left to become Sports Editor of the Sunday Mirror paper. I stayed there for two years before moving to The Times (unusually going from a tabloid to what might still be called broadsheet paper) as football editor.
Since that point in 2005 I have been Deputy Sports Editor, Digital Editor, Executive Managing Editor – and now I am Group Managing Editor of The Times and Sunday Times which is an incredibly privileged position to be in and one I never dreamed of when I was 12!
Jo has been very understanding as my career has progressed as my time at home can be limited. But I am also lucky to have two fantastic sons William, 13, and Leo, 8 as I write this. William is mentioned elsewhere on this site – his kart racing is a real passion for him – while Leo is a cracking little footballer and much better than his dad ever was!
As for my hobbies, well time is very limited now. I used to play a lot of football, cricket and represented my county at youth level in table tennis. I also dragged a golf handicap from 24 down to 5 before my knees and swing gave up!
I am sure my dad Eric will be able to furnish this site with more details from the past but it is a pleasure to read the material on here.
My corporate bio is here – http://news.co.uk/senior-management/

Photo source:  http://news.co.uk/senior-management/